Inspirational desktop wallpaper

Inspirational desktop wallpaper (Photo credit: calypso Dragon 13)

zen bedroom

zen bedroom (Photo credit: evoluc)

This title came to me randomly although I scarcely can put into words the meaning.  Perhaps it’s something like this:  How do we keep ourselves afloat despite events in life that could weigh us down?  What do we do when the bear traps of obstacles and the everyday catastrophic little details get in the way of our overall state of mind and wellness?  Is the answer in the “power of positivism?”  Is the answer in some self-help mantra?  Is the answer to eat more live, gluten-free cleansing, non-processed foods?  Is the answer in meditation?  Is the answer in exercise?  Is the answer in prayer?  Is the answer in going to organized religious  functions?  Is the answer in increased effort?  Is the answer in mindfulness?  Is the answer in Zen?  Does one person have the power to inform the rest of the population of an answer that will work for 99.9% of those who care to listen?

All I can say is that in overcoming obstacles, in having “distress tolerance”, clarity, presence of mind, in having the ability to accept life’s challenges and find a way to work with the roadblocks in front of is, there is no universal answer that I have ever encountered.  This is just my personal truth.

There may be a gentle reader out there, waving your arms and shaking your head, thinking to yourself, “How dare she say this in a blog about motivation?  She’s supposed to tell us it’s all about good nutrition and good fitness!  She’s supposed to give us the answers!”

I will tell you this, as far as I’ve learned it, and I’m still learning.  The things that work for me (and I’m still finding them, since I’m not all the way at my goal in terms of health or anything I’ve tried to accomplish yet — it’s a journey in progress) may not be the things that work for you or anyone else you know.  Health and fitness are personal relationships with our own bodies, minds and other processes.  The issue of diet and nutrition alone is ripe with controversy.  The issue of how to meet various specialized health concerns like diabetes or high cholesterol — these are important, and yes, there are guidelines that health educators often quote to the masses.  However, the actual plans once put into action will not appear the same for any two people.  What works for me will not necessarily work for you.  We are unique.  That is the challenge and the beauty of life.

Maybe instead of looking for a one-size-fits-all solution, we could look to the inherent beauty in overcoming our personal struggles and sharing the results with those who are supportive.  We can share joys and accomplishments without the need for jealousy or knocks in self-esteem.  After all, self worth is bestowed from within, not from others.  This is the core of wellness in my opinion.  And uniqueness is essential, too.

About theworldofwilma

I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a niece, a cousin, a patient, a friend, a woman, a client, a parent, a vegetarian, a believer, an environmentalist and probably much more. . . but mostly I'm just me, quirky, silly ol' nonsensical Wilma, and I wouldn't have it any other way. In addition, I am just recently new in the world of self published, self illustrated children's literature. Please see some pictures from my first work. I invite all interest and dialogue from illustration artists, authors, publishers, marketers, writers of all kinds, parents, or anyone interested in the printed word for young readers. I am just starting out and want to learn all I can.

Leave a Reply

