Good morning!!  The sun is shining, the birds are probably singing (oh, yeah, I can’t hear them because I’m inside and my apartment complex is kinda loudish, but anyway), and I should get moving and grooving, do my morning workout that I’ve set for myself (and I will!)  The plan is to head to the SparkPeople website and find some yoga stretches after doing a brief meditation, maybe find a guided meditation online as well.  When I get home, I will do some strength training from another video.  Other exercise I will do today is at least a thirty minute walk in my neighborhood or elsewhere.  I like to walk in town between where I volunteer and the bus plaza.

Last night, I had a bout of insomnia (nothing new).  I had issues on my mind.  I decided to do some trans-formative writing.  This is a form of writing that is free flowing, so you don’t edit yourself, and you just write and write until there is nothing left of the emotions or thoughts that are weighing you down.  I combined it with some prayer based on my personal beliefs.  It’s not something I would choose to post, but I am keeping it on my computer.

I did have some small emotional eating yesterday — a bit of black cherry ice cream mixed with “sinless sweet cream” and coconut from the notorious Cold Stone Creamery.  They are right at the mall, which is by my house.  I normally wouldn’t give into temptation like that or would get a sorbet.  Not this time.  The combination was very yummy, though.  I don’t feel bad for what I eat.  I am not committing a mortal sin, and I did not gain any pounds.

On the bus, I will bring some scratch paper and make a list of the things I will buy at the store.  I like this one market on the side of town where I volunteer doing admin and facilitating support groups.  I’m going to plan a menu from now until next Friday.  Get ready, Next Week, get ready to feel my motivation!

The best tool for working with emotional eating that I have found is mindfulness.  I mean techniques like eating while doing nothing else (a hard one for me), focusing on the small nuances of the flavors of my meal, thinking about gratitude in relation to food, being aware of my senses of taste, smell, hunger and competing sensations as well, maybe noticing what is making me want to eat besides hunger, realizing that I do not need to always eat to feel satisfied, noticing that the emotions do not go away with the food, they are just suppressed.

Last night, after I ate two pieces of cinnamon-raisin Ezekial sprouted bread with Earth Balance buttery spread (not too bad of an emotional eating moment), I added an additional comforter to my bed, closer to my skin.  After doing that and the writing, I managed to fall asleep, but by then I believe it was at least past 2:00 AM if not later.  I didn’t sleep in too late, then, only until about 8 AM.  I am fine.  I am ready to start the day.

I just thought I would share this challenge since I know it is present for so many other people.  It is a good reason also not to have a lot of supposed “trigger foods” in the house, ones that will usually lead to eating excessively.  Note that I did not consume a whole store-bought tub of ice cream, just a little cup.  Moderation with some room for enjoyment.  I would call it successful.

Now to get up and get moving.

About theworldofwilma

I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a niece, a cousin, a patient, a friend, a woman, a client, a parent, a vegetarian, a believer, an environmentalist and probably much more. . . but mostly I'm just me, quirky, silly ol' nonsensical Wilma, and I wouldn't have it any other way. In addition, I am just recently new in the world of self published, self illustrated children's literature. Please see some pictures from my first work. I invite all interest and dialogue from illustration artists, authors, publishers, marketers, writers of all kinds, parents, or anyone interested in the printed word for young readers. I am just starting out and want to learn all I can.

Leave a Reply

